Week 113 – Freedom through dance

I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but I started a new part time job about a month ago.

It is a type of reception job, which I have done many times before. However, this is a new experience for me because I have never done it before in Germany.

English is my first language, but my German isn’t too bad.

Starting a new job is hard anyway, but I am slowly realising that the place I am working at has a bad atmosphere. Everyone there is unhappy with their jobs and moan a lot.

To top it off though, 3 different people have mentioned that I look timid.

I don’t have very high self-esteem anyway, so this has all left me feeling a bit sad.

Contrary to my last post, I definitely don’t feel like I am making the most of life at the moment.

I definitely consider myself an introvert, and a sensitive one at that, but I feel like I have been doing a good job at my new workplace.

Anyway, what has this got to do with ballet?

Well, I have to say that I am hugely thankful that I have ballet as an escape.

Although I am not taking as many lessons as I would like, the two hours a week that I do have have really saved me.

I really don’t know what I did to escape before my obsession with ballet came to life.

I feel like the whole routine of putting on tights, a leo, and a pair of pink slippers calming.

I know that when I step into the studio we will start with pliés.

I can forget about the day, or week, and concentrate on pointing my toes or maintaining a balance.

This week was a bit of a low for me. But as they say, there are no highs without the lows.

xx

4 Gedanken zu “Week 113 – Freedom through dance

  1. I’ve been working at a place where people do nothing but complain for two years now. Draw the motivation from within yourself and take pride in your job. If anyone complains to you, smile and nod politely if you don’t feel like arguing. If anyone complains *about* you, ask them why they think so and whether they think being less „timid“ would make you better at your job. Besides, timidity is such an easily confused thing… depending on where you are in Germany, many people wouldn’t now politeness if it walked up to them and punched them in the face.
    Oh yeah, and if you feel like it, look around for a new job every now and again.

    Gefällt 1 Person

    1. Luckily so far the visitors haven’t said anything negative to me or about me. It’s just the other staff.

      I wish I could probe them a bit more and ask them what they mean exactly, but I honestly felt like I was going to burst into tears the last time I heard it.

      I feel like I am being professional and polite, so maybe you are right that they are interpreting that wrong.

      I am definitely keeping an eye out for something more suited to me.

      Thanks so much for your advice. It helped me feel a bit stronger.

      Gefällt 1 Person

  2. I don’t mind people calling me ’shy‘, or ‚quiet.‘ But ugh, timid! I hate that word. That and ’sensitive.‘ I’m sure you’re doing fine, especially since you’re working in German! Hope things get better x

    Gefällt 1 Person

    1. Me too! I just felt so offended. The last thing someone who is shy wants to hear is that they are shy or quiet. It’s not like you are suddenly going to be outspoken and confident after someone tells you that.

      After I heard it the second and third time I just felt really deflated.

      I’m just going to keep my eye out for a job that might suite me better.

      Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

